Important Legislation Sent to Governor Brown – Los Gatos Enacting More Gun Rules This Monday

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

We have a call for everyone who possibly make it to attend the Los Gatos Town Council Meeting this Monday, September 16th.  They want to repeal the Town Code that allows the discharge of a firearm on private property.  Zoning changes for firearms and ammunition businesses, and firearms dealer local permit fees will also be discussed and acted upon.

The meeting starts at 7 pm at the Los Gatos Town Council Chambers at 110 East Main Street, Los Gatos, CA 95030.  Show up early to get a seat in the front row.

While we had several wins in this California Legislative Session, many anti-Second Amendment bills were passed and sent to Governor Brown.

Please call, email and fax Governor Brown and urge him to VETO these bills.  If he does not veto them, they will become law.

Governor Brown

Phone: (916) 445-2841

Email: http://govnews.ca.gov/gov39mail/mail.php

Thank you!

 

AB 48 – to Governor Brown

Outlaws magazines with more than 10 rounds.  Ammunition purchased of over 6,000 rounds in a 7-day period must be reported to the CA DOJ.  Bans magazine rebuild and repair kits. OPPOSE.

 

AB 169 – to Governor Brown

Makes the sale, transfer or loan of any handgun that is on the “unsafe” list a crime, even in private party transfers through an FFL dealer.  Additionally, a firearm whose manufacturer fails to pay their annual fee an unsafe gun.  this will make previously “safe” firearms now “unsafe” and prevent their transfer, sale or loan.  OPPOSE.

 

AB 180 – to Governor Brown

This bill authorizes the City of Oakland, California to adopt more restrictive laws than the State of California has regarding the licensing, bearing, ownership and registration of firearms.  It also allows the City of Oakland to make laws affecting the carrying of firearms in one’s own home or place of business.  OPPOSE.

 

AB 231 – to Governor Brown

This bill changes the definition of “child” for unsafe storage of firearms from 14 years of age to under 18 years of age.  This bill also uses “reasonably should know” and “reasonable action is taken by the person to secure the firearm against access by the child” and does not define what is “reasonable.”  This leaves interpretation open to abuse by the law enforcement and judicial departments.  Mandatory insurance coverage by firearms owner has been dropped from this bill.  OPPOSE.

 

AB 539

This bill allows a person prohibited from possessing a firearm (due to restraining orders and other temporary orders) to transfer all of their firearms to a firearms dealer or FFL holder for storage until the prohibition order expires.  Persons accused of crimes or mental disorders that are found innocent or judged sane and capable of firearm ownership will be able to regain possession of their firearms.  As it stands now, a temporarily prohibited person had to immediately sell or turn their firearms into the police.  SUPPORT.

 

AB 711 – to Governor Brown

This bill requires nonlead ammunition to be used when “taking all wildlife, including game mammals, game birds, nongame birds, and nongame mammals, with any firearm.”  A list of state-certified ammunition will be updated once per year.  Hunters must use only ammunition that is on the list.  Anyone hunting who is found in possession of ammunition that is not on the list of approved ammunition will be fined a minimum of $1,000 up to a maximum fine of $5,000.  OPPOSE.

 

SB 299 – to Governor Brown

This bill requires everyone “to report the theft or loss of a firearm he or she owns or possesses to a local law enforcement agency in the jurisdiction in which the theft or loss occurred within 48 hours of the time he or she knew or reasonably should have known that the firearm had been stolen or lost.”

The problem with this bill is the phrase “reasonably should have known.”  There is no definition of “reasonable” and this could open some doors to abuse by law enforcement and the courts.  People with large firearms collections may not miss one for months.  OPPOSE.

 

SB 374 – to Governor Brown

This bill requires a Firearm Ownership Record for just about every firearm purchased after July 1, 2014.  It also expands the definition of assault weapon and requires future registration all such firearms.  Just about every semi-automatic firearm could be included.  All firearms with a “bullet button” would be classified as an assault weapon.  OPPOSE.

 

SB 475 – to Governor Brown

Effectively bans gun shows held at the Cow Palace.  In order to hold any event that has the presence of firearms in the Cow Palace, will require “prior approval, by resolution, adopted by both the Board of Supervisors of the County of San Mateo and the Board of Supervisors of the City and County of San Francisco.”  This bill changed the law under the Food and agricultural Code.

The law appears to make it just about impossible to hold a gun show in “any successor or additional property owned, leased, or otherwise occupied, or operated by the district” which basically prevents gun shows in San Mateo despite the settlement of the Nordyke lawsuit.  OPPOSE.

 

SB 567 – to Governor Brown

Modifies the “definition of a shotgun to delete the requirement that it be intended to be fired from the shoulder, and would clarify that the projectile may be fired through either a rifled bore or a smooth bore.”

Makes any shotgun “with a revolving cylinder” an assault weapon and requires registration of all such weapons possessed by July 1, 2015.

It appears that this could make the Judge revolver which fires .45 cal ammunition in addition to .410 shotgun shells an assault weapon, and therefore barred from future sale in California.  A broader interpretation could make any revolver an assault weapon if it can chamber snake shotshells (.22 LR and .22 magnum is currently available).  Amended 9/3/2013 to exempt handguns and snakeshot used in handguns.   OPPOSE.

SB 683 – to Governor Brown

This bill require a firearms safety certificate for all firearms starting July 1, 2015.  It also requires all firearms transactions to be reported to the Department of Justice.  This effectively puts in place firearms registration for all firearms.

There are many other changes in this bill.  It appears that all private transfers may require the person receiving the firearm to have a firearms safety certificate AND “shall forward by prepaid mail, or deliver in person to the Department of Justice, a report that includes information concerning the individual taking possession of the firearm, how title was obtained and from whom, and a description of the firearm in question.”  Failure to do so will be a crime.  OPPOSE.

 

SB 711 – to Governor Brown

This bill bans the use of lead bullets in all hunting.  More costly non-lead bullets must be used and many of these are not widely available in all calibers.  OPPOSE.

SB 755 – to Governor Brown

This bill adds numerous minor offenses that will result in a 10-year loss of the right to possess any firearm.  Offenses involving of the Vehicle Code are also included in this list.  Other changes in the prohibition of firearms ownership are also added.  OPPOSE.

NOTE: All bill summaries above were not performed by a lawyer familiar with firearms law.  Do not rely on these summaries in lieu of legal advice; consult a lawyer for that purpose.  Additionally, due to future changes in the bills, these descriptions may significantly differ from the most current version of the bill.  Click on the bill number to see current bill status and language from the State of California Legislative Counsel.

 

This entry was posted in Activism. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *